Jun 2022
3 min

Michigan Cannabis Purchase Limit

2.5 oz

Per transaction


Michigan limits cannabis purchases in the following amounts

  • 2.5 ounces of cannabis/transaction
  • Not more than 15 grams of the marijuana sold to one customer may be in the form of marijuana concentrate.

Why this is important

Every state has different cannabis purchase limitations.  Sometimes the limit is per day, sometimes during a set period of time, and sometimes it is per transaction. Knowing the purchase limit helps you operate compliantly once licensed for a dispensary and helps with financial planning for your daily dispensary sales.

Michigan has a per transaction policy for retail cannabis sales. Each single transaction and must record the transaction in the statewide monitoring system.

Explore more
Related Sheets.
Regulatory Citations for This Article

Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act

333.27955 Lawful activities by person 21 years of age or older; terms, conditions, limitations, and restrictions; denial of custody or visitation prohibited.

Sec. 5. 1. Notwithstanding any other law or provision of this act, and except as otherwise provided in section 4 of this act, the following acts by a person 21 years of age or older are not unlawful, are not an offense, are not grounds for seizing or forfeiting property, are not grounds for arrest, prosecution, or penalty in any manner, are not grounds for search or inspection, and are not grounds to deny any other right or privilege:

(a) except as permitted by subdivision (b), possessing, using or consuming, internally possessing, purchasing, transporting, or processing 2.5 ounces or less of marihuana, except that not more than 15 grams of marihuana may be in the form of marihuana concentrate;